Sign up to our newsletter to win free bags and receive exclusive discounts!

Are Our Vegan Sweets Halal?

This is a common question that gets asked at Vegan All Sorts and we are here to answer it for you. Vegan food is almost always Halal with the exception of certain ingredients that contain alcohol.

If the ingredients contain alcohol, the next question you may ask is "will it get me drunk?" and the answer is no.

Although the alcohol in the ingredients may be minuscule, they are to some, considered Haram, which in turn means they are not Halal. So, with the exception of certain ingredients all vegan food is generally Halal.

There are specific ingredients to look out for in the confectionary sector, such as Vanilla extract which contains traces of alcohol, and where some may consider all vegan food to be Halal, others may not. When looking for Halal sweets, just to be on the safe side, we suggest you check the ingredients of our vegan sweets before you purchase, to ensure they fall in line with your interpretation of the Islamic Law.

Thus far, we do not have any sweets in our range that contain vanilla extract (at the time of writing), yet we ask you to simply check our product descriptions before buying. So if you’re not only looking for not vegan sweets but halal sweets too, then you have come to the right place!