Sign up to our newsletter to win free bags and receive exclusive discounts!

Is Wheat Starch Gluten-Free?

This is a common question that gets asked and it's about time we clear it up!

Wheat Starch is most commonly a big 'no no' in the eyes of those who are gluten intolerant or coeliac. However, if you see Codex Wheat Starch then don’t be alarmed. Codex Wheat Starch is produced in a way that the gluten has been removed to a trace level.

The use for Codex Wheat Starch (whether that be in our gluten-free sweets or any other gluten-free food) is to improve the quality and texture. It will always be listed in the ingredients if it has been used.

Codex Wheat Starch is a product of wheat, but it has been washed so the level of gluten is in fact within or below the Codex standards of 20 parts per million, which is suitable for consumption by people with coeliac disease according to the law.

Although Codex Wheat Starch is listed as safe for those who are coeliac or gluten-free it’s mandatory to be listed in the ingredients. We therefore ask for all of our customers (whether you are vegan, gluten-free or coeliac) to check our ingredients before you purchase any of our products to ensure you are on the safe side.

If you are looking for vegan friendly gluten free sweets or if you are coeliac and missing that sweet fix, then Vegan All Sorts is the place for you. We have a huge range of vegan gluten free sweets to choose from, including classic pick n mix confectionary including our Bubs range delivering deep nostalgia!